Skip to content
OECD tertiary education and labour-market data

Employment Rate of Tertiary-Educated Adults by Country: OECD 2025

Country results for employed adults aged 25–64 whose highest completed qualification is tertiary education. The OECD 2025 edition reports mainly 2024 reference-year data; Chile uses 2022, while Iceland and the United States use 2023.

Coverage: 38 OECD members Main reference year: 2024 Age group: 25–64 Unit: % employed Source table: A3.1

OECD Employment Statistics

Published country values are rounded to whole percentages.

OECD average
87%
Tertiary-educated adults aged 25–64
Highest OECD value
98%
Norway
Lowest OECD value
75%
Türkiye
Country spread
23 pp
98% minus 75%
Rates of 90% or above
10
Published rounded values
Using 2024 data
35 of 38
Three members use earlier years

OECD Member Country Distribution

Countries are sorted by the total tertiary employment rate in Table A3.1.

Tertiary-Educated Adult Employment Rate by Country

Employed 25–64-year-olds as a percentage of all 25–64-year-olds with tertiary attainment.

The OECD average is 87%. The country table identifies the three earlier reference years.

Chart analysis
  • Norway is the only OECD member at 98%.
  • Ten countries report rates of 90% or above.
  • Twenty-five countries are at or above the rounded OECD average.
  • The median country value is 88%.
  • The full spread is 23 percentage points.

OECD Member Country Results

The upper-secondary premium is a page-level calculation from rounded totals: tertiary employment minus upper-secondary or post-secondary non-tertiary employment.

OrderCountryCodeEmployment rateOECD differenceUpper-secondary premiumReference year
1NorwayNOR98%+11 pp+7 pp2024
2HungaryHUN92%+5 pp+7 pp2024
3PolandPOL92%+5 pp+16 pp2024
4IcelandISL91%+4 pp+5 pp2023
5PortugalPRT91%+4 pp+5 pp2024
6Slovak RepublicSVK91%+4 pp+9 pp2024
7SloveniaSVN91%+4 pp+12 pp2024
8LithuaniaLTU90%+3 pp+15 pp2024
9NetherlandsNLD90%+3 pp+6 pp2024
10New ZealandNZL90%+3 pp+7 pp2024
11AustraliaAUS89%+2 pp+8 pp2024
12CzechiaCZE89%+2 pp+3 pp2024
13EstoniaEST89%+2 pp+7 pp2024
14FinlandFIN89%+2 pp+12 pp2024
15GermanyDEU89%+2 pp+5 pp2024
16SwedenSWE89%+2 pp+5 pp2024
17SwitzerlandCHE89%+2 pp+5 pp2024
18BelgiumBEL88%+1 pp+14 pp2024
19DenmarkDNK88%+1 pp+6 pp2024
20IrelandIRL88%+1 pp+10 pp2024
21IsraelISR88%+1 pp+14 pp2024
22JapanJPN88%+1 ppNot reported2024
23LatviaLVA88%+1 pp+12 pp2024
24FranceFRA87%0 pp+12 pp2024
25United KingdomGBR87%0 pp+9 pp2024
26AustriaAUT86%-1 pp+8 pp2024
27ChileCHL86%-1 pp+15 pp2022
28ItalyITA85%-2 pp+11 pp2024
29LuxembourgLUX85%-2 pp+12 pp2024
30SpainESP84%-3 pp+10 pp2024
31CanadaCAN83%-4 pp+8 pp2024
32United StatesUSA83%-4 pp+13 pp2023
33GreeceGRC81%-6 pp+11 pp2024
34MexicoMEX81%-6 pp+8 pp2024
35ColombiaCOL80%-7 pp+10 pp2024
36KoreaKOR80%-7 pp+8 pp2024
37Costa RicaCRI79%-8 pp+8 pp2024
38TürkiyeTUR75%-12 pp+12 pp2024
BenchmarkOECD averageOECD87%0 pp+9 ppMainly 2024
Table analysis
  • Norway is 11 points above the rounded OECD average.
  • Hungary and Poland each report 92%.
  • Iceland, Portugal, the Slovak Republic and Slovenia each report 91%.
  • Poland has the largest calculated upper-secondary premium at 16 points.
  • Chile and Lithuania each have a calculated premium of 15 points.
  • Czechia has the smallest calculated premium at 3 points among countries with both totals.
  • Japan’s upper-secondary total is not reported, so no premium is calculated.
  • Equal percentages remain tied even though the display order uses separate row numbers.

Qualification-Level Employment

OECD averages for the highest completed tertiary qualification among adults aged 25–64.

Employment Rate by Tertiary Qualification Level

Short-cycle, bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral or equivalent qualifications.

The OECD average ranges from 83% for short-cycle tertiary to 93% for doctoral or equivalent qualifications.

Chart analysis
  • The reported average increases by 10 points from short-cycle tertiary to doctoral level.
  • The bachelor’s-to-master’s difference is 4 points.
  • The measure does not report earnings, contract type or qualification-to-job match.
QualificationOECD averageISCED level
Short-cycle tertiary83%5
Bachelor’s or equivalent86%6
Master’s or equivalent90%7
Doctoral or equivalent93%8
Table analysis
  • Master’s and doctoral averages are above the 87% total-tertiary OECD benchmark.
  • Short-cycle tertiary is 4 points below the total-tertiary benchmark.
  • Country-level control codes and programme structures can limit direct qualification comparisons.

Young-Adult Employment by Gender, 2019–2024

Supporting OECD averages for adults aged 25–34; these values are not the 25–64 country-ranking measure.

Employment by Attainment and Gender

OECD average employment rates in 2019 and 2024.

For tertiary-educated young adults, the men’s average changed from 89% to 90% and the women’s average from 81% to 84%.

Trend analysis
  • Tertiary-educated women recorded the largest change shown: +3 points.
  • The tertiary gender gap narrowed from 8 points to 6 points.
  • Upper-secondary employment for men remained at 85%.
  • The trend is an OECD aggregate rather than a country ranking.
AttainmentGender20192024Change
Below upper secondaryMen72%71%-1 pp
Below upper secondaryWomen45%46%+1 pp
Upper secondary or post-secondary non-tertiaryMen85%85%0 pp
Upper secondary or post-secondary non-tertiaryWomen68%70%+2 pp
TertiaryMen89%90%+1 pp
TertiaryWomen81%84%+3 pp
Table analysis
  • The 2024 tertiary rates are 90% for men and 84% for women aged 25–34.
  • The largest 2024 gender gap shown is 25 points for below-upper-secondary attainment.
  • Women’s upper-secondary rate increased by 2 points.
  • Age and gender coverage differ from the main 25–64 total.

Field of Study and Numeracy Profiles

These OECD averages use separate tables and participating-country coverage.

Employment by Selected Field of Study

OECD average rates for tertiary-educated adults aged 25–64.

Selected field averages span 84% to 90% and do not measure earnings or occupation match.

Chart analysis
  • ICT records the highest selected field average at 90%.
  • Engineering, manufacturing and construction follows at 89%.
  • The selected-field spread is 6 points.
Numeracy levelEmployment rateReference year
At or below Level 177%2023
Level 285%2023
Level 389%2023
Level 4 or above92%2023
Table analysis
  • The rate rises from 77% at or below Level 1 to 92% at Level 4 or above.
  • The lowest-to-highest numeracy difference is 15 points.
  • Level 2 reports 85%; Level 3 reports 89%.
  • Coverage is limited to Survey of Adult Skills Cycle 2 participants.

Partner and Accession Country Coverage

These results are separated from OECD members. Group labels follow the report’s 2025 table structure.

OrderCountryEmployment rateReference year2025 report group
1Bulgaria91%2024Accession/partner
2Romania91%2024Accession/partner
3Croatia89%2024Accession/partner
4Argentina88%2023Partner
5Brazil86%2023Partner
6Peru82%2024Partner
7Indonesia81%2022Partner
8India65%2023Partner
9South Africa40%2024Partner
Not rankedChinaNot reportedNot reportedPartner
Not rankedSaudi ArabiaNot reportedNot reportedPartner
BenchmarkEU25 average89%Mainly 2024Aggregate
BenchmarkG20 average81%MixedAggregate
Table analysis
  • Bulgaria and Romania each report 91%.
  • Croatia reports 89%; Argentina reports 88%.
  • India reports 65%; South Africa reports 40%.
  • China and Saudi Arabia have no reported tertiary total.
  • EU25 and G20 values are aggregates, not country ranks.

Interpretation Boundaries

The indicator measures labour-force status for a defined education group.

Employment is not unemployment

The denominator includes all tertiary-educated adults aged 25–64, including people outside the labour force. Unemployment rates use only the labour force.

All adults, not only recent graduates

The country comparison covers ages 25–64. The 25–34 trend is presented separately.

Qualification levels differ

The OECD average ranges from 83% for short-cycle tertiary to 93% for doctoral or equivalent qualifications.

Field and skills have narrower coverage

Field-of-study and numeracy results come from separate tables and do not replace Table A3.1.

Employment does not show job quality

The indicator omits pay, working hours, contract security, overqualification and occupation match.

Premiums use rounded values

Differences calculated from whole-number values can differ by one point from calculations using unrounded data.

Source and Methodology

Indicator
Employed 25–64-year-olds as a percentage of all 25–64-year-olds with the stated attainment.
Tertiary scope
ISCED 2011 levels 5–8.
Coverage
38 OECD members in the primary comparison; partner and accession countries are separate.
Reference years
Mainly 2024; Chile 2022; Iceland and the United States 2023.
Unit
Percent; “pp” means percentage points.
Calculations
OECD difference and upper-secondary premium are page-level calculations from rounded values.
Missing values
No replacement values are generated.
Publication cut-off
13 June 2025; the OECD Data Explorer may contain later revisions.

The report uses ISCED 2011 for the OECD member results. It notes separate classification treatment for Argentina and India and uses ILO data for Argentina, India and Indonesia. Country order follows the total tertiary employment rate; tied percentages are equivalent.

Methodological Safety Note

The ordering compares one indicator and does not rank education-system quality. It does not establish why rates differ. Reference years, survey design, labour-force participation and source control codes must be considered before country comparisons.

📚

Complete guide: Higher Education