Skip to content
OECD 2025 higher education data

Higher Education Outcomes by Field of Study: Completion and Employment Rates, OECD 2025

Field outcomes differ across the path from programme entry to graduation and employment. OECD completion data follow full-time bachelor’s entrants through the theoretical programme duration and three additional years, while employment data describe tertiary-educated adults aged 25–64. The measures are related but do not use the same population or reference period.

Completion reference year: 2023 Employment reference year: 2024 Adult skills reference year: 2023 Main source: OECD

Outcome Snapshot

OECD averages use the country coverage available for each indicator.

Bachelor’s completion on time
43.1%
Any tertiary qualification by the theoretical programme end.
Bachelor’s completion by N+3
70.0%
Any tertiary qualification within three additional years.
Health completion by N+3
79.7%
Highest of the three selected entry-field groups.
STEM completion by N+3
67.9%
11.8 percentage points below health and welfare.
ICT employment rate
90.1%
Tertiary-educated adults aged 25–64.
Field employment spread
6.0 pp
ICT compared with arts and social fields in the reported OECD averages.

Bachelor’s Completion by Entry Field

Completion at any tertiary level by the theoretical programme duration plus three years.

OECD average completion rate across selected fields

Full-time bachelor’s entrants; 2023 reference year

Health and welfare leads STEM by 11.8 percentage points. The arts and social fields group sits between them.

Chart analysis
  • Health and welfare: 79.7% completed a tertiary programme by N+3.
  • Arts and social fields: 71.0% completed by N+3.
  • STEM: 67.9% completed by N+3.
  • The gap between health and welfare and STEM is 11.8 percentage points.
  • These rates follow entry cohorts and do not measure employment after graduation.

Completion Rates by Field and Education System

Systems are ordered by the reported health and welfare completion rate. The ranking applies only to that column and the available source coverage.

RankEducation systemArts and social fieldsHealth and welfareSTEMHealth–STEM gapYear
1Türkiye83.9%95.6%84.2%+11.5 pp2023
2Israel81.3%91.7%78.1%+13.6 pp2023
3Spain71.6%88.2%66.6%+21.7 pp2023
4Switzerland80.2%87.1%80.7%+6.3 pp2023
5Canada76.2%87.0%83.0%+4.0 pp2023
6Finland79.0%85.5%65.6%+19.9 pp2023
7Norway71.0%85.4%73.8%+11.6 pp2023
8Portugal75.1%84.5%68.3%+16.3 pp2023
9Ireland77.6%84.2%69.5%+14.7 pp2023
10United Kingdom85.5%83.3%82.0%+1.3 pp2023
11Sweden59.1%81.2%58.7%+22.5 pp2023
12Poland65.4%80.2%70.8%+9.4 pp2023
13Estonia65.7%77.1%60.2%+16.9 pp2023
14Slovenia62.9%77.0%62.7%+14.3 pp2023
15Austria57.2%76.8%54.7%+22.2 pp2023
16Iceland71.3%76.1%76.2%-0.1 pp2023
17New Zealand75.0%75.7%78.7%-3.0 pp2023
18Netherlands77.5%75.7%71.3%+4.4 pp2023
19Lithuania66.0%73.4%61.2%+12.2 pp2023
20Romania62.2%72.6%66.1%+6.5 pp2023
21Hungary74.6%72.2%66.8%+5.4 pp2023
22Flemish Comm. (Belgium)68.1%72.0%71.2%+0.8 pp2023
23Denmark70.2%71.6%64.0%+7.6 pp2023
24Chile61.0%70.4%49.2%+21.2 pp2023
25Australia64.8%69.7%68.0%+1.7 pp2023
26French Comm. (Belgium)51.4%54.7%47.4%+7.4 pp2023
27Brazil54.9%50.2%46.2%+4.0 pp2023
28Peru45.7%35.3%39.4%-4.1 pp2023
29Luxembourg63.0%Not reported43.7%Not reported2023
Table analysis
  • The table contains 29 education systems with a reported value in at least one selected field.
  • Türkiye records the highest reported health and welfare completion rate at 95.6%.
  • United Kingdom records the highest arts and social fields rate at 85.5%.
  • Türkiye also records the highest reported STEM completion rate at 84.2%, followed by Canada at 83.0%.
  • The widest positive health–STEM gaps are in Sweden (+22.5 pp), Austria (+22.2 pp), Spain (+21.7 pp), and Chile (+21.2 pp).
  • STEM exceeds health and welfare in Peru (-4.1 pp) and New Zealand (-3.0 pp); Iceland is nearly even (-0.1 pp).
  • Luxembourg reports arts and STEM completion but no health and welfare value in Table B5.3.
  • Values are OECD true-cohort completion rates, not the percentage of the adult population holding a degree.

Time Allowed Changes the Completion Measure

The same bachelor’s entry cohort produces different completion rates at the theoretical end, one year later, and three years later.

Bachelor’s completion timeline

Completion at any tertiary level; OECD average

The first additional year adds 16.2 percentage points; the following two years add another 10.7 points.

Observation pointCompletion rateChange from prior pointReference year
Theoretical programme duration43.1%Baseline2020 observation point
Theoretical duration plus one year59.4%+16.2 pp2021 observation point
Theoretical duration plus three years70.0%+10.7 pp2023 observation point
Trend analysis
  • Only 43.1% complete by the theoretical programme end.
  • The rate reaches 59.4% after one additional year.
  • By N+3, completion reaches 70.0%.
  • The gain after the first extra year is larger than the gain across the next two years.
  • The reference points describe elapsed time for the same cohort design, not three independent graduating classes.

Completion in the Original Field and Switching

The OECD separates completion in the starting field from graduation after changing field or tertiary level.

Graduation status within three additional years

OECD averages across selected bachelor’s entry fields

The component averages should not be added to reconstruct the total rate because country coverage and OECD averaging can differ across columns.

Entry fieldCompleted any tertiary programmeSame fieldDifferent field, same levelDifferent tertiary levelReference year
Health and welfare79.7%73.8%4.5%1.8%2023
Arts, humanities, social sciences, journalism and information71.0%60.6%9.1%1.8%2023
STEM67.9%57.8%9.0%2.0%2023
Table analysis
  • 73.8% of health and welfare entrants complete a bachelor’s programme in the same field.
  • The same-field rate falls to 60.6% in arts and social fields and 57.8% in STEM.
  • Same-level field switching is about 9% in both STEM and arts and social fields, compared with 4.5% in health and welfare.
  • Completion at another tertiary level is close to 2% in all three groups.
  • Field switching is a completed pathway and should not be counted as leaving higher education without a qualification.

Employment Rates by Field of Qualification

Employment rates refer to employed adults as a share of all tertiary-educated adults aged 25–64 in each field.

OECD average employment rates across reported fields

Broad fields and selected STEM subfields; 2024 reference year

ICT has the highest reported field rate at 90.1%; arts and social fields record 84.1%.

RankFieldField levelEmployment ratePopulationYear
1Information and communication technologies (ICT)Subfield90.1%Tertiary-educated adults aged 25–642024
2Engineering, manufacturing and constructionSubfield88.8%Tertiary-educated adults aged 25–642024
3STEM totalBroad field88.2%Tertiary-educated adults aged 25–642024
4Health and welfareBroad field88.0%Tertiary-educated adults aged 25–642024
5Business, administration and lawBroad field87.1%Tertiary-educated adults aged 25–642024
6EducationBroad field86.8%Tertiary-educated adults aged 25–642024
7Natural sciences, mathematics and statisticsSubfield85.7%Tertiary-educated adults aged 25–642024
8Arts, humanities, social sciences, journalism and informationBroad field84.1%Tertiary-educated adults aged 25–642024
Employment analysis
  • ICT: 90.1%, the highest reported field rate.
  • Engineering, manufacturing and construction: 88.8%.
  • STEM total: 88.2%, while natural sciences, mathematics and statistics records 85.7%.
  • Health and welfare: 88.0%.
  • Arts and social fields: 84.1%, six percentage points below ICT.
  • The field spread is narrower than the completion gaps across several education systems.
  • Employment includes part-time and full-time work and does not identify whether the job matches the field of qualification.

Numeracy Proficiency and Employment Within Fields

PIAAC data separate tertiary-educated adults by numeracy proficiency level.

Employment rate by field and numeracy level

Adults aged 25–64; OECD average, 2023

Employment rises with higher numeracy proficiency in every reported field aggregate.

FieldLevel 0/1Level 2Level 3Level 4/5Low-to-high gapYear
Education79.6%84.2%88.9%94.2%+14.6 pp2023
Arts, humanities, social sciences, journalism and information76.9%85.2%87.6%90.2%+13.3 pp2023
Business, administration and law78.7%85.2%88.8%92.4%+13.7 pp2023
STEM80.7%86.2%91.0%93.1%+12.5 pp2023
Health and welfare79.8%87.1%89.5%92.8%+13.1 pp2023
Skills analysis
  • At numeracy Level 0/1, employment ranges from 76.9% in arts and social fields to 80.7% in STEM.
  • At Level 4/5, the range narrows to 90.2%–94.2%.
  • Education records the largest low-to-high proficiency gap at 14.6 percentage points.
  • Arts and social fields records a 13.3-point gap; business records 13.7 points.
  • STEM records a 12.5-point gap and health and welfare records 13.1 points.
  • The table describes association within reported groups and does not establish that a change in numeracy alone produces the employment difference.

Gender Difference in Bachelor’s Completion

The reported gender comparison covers all bachelor’s entry fields combined.

Completion by gender and observation point

OECD average; full-time bachelor’s entrants

Women lead men by 11 percentage points on time and 12 points at N+3.

Observation pointWomenMenGender gapReference year
Theoretical programme duration48%37%11 pp2020 observation point
Theoretical duration plus three years75%63%12 pp2023 observation point
Completion analysis
  • Women record a higher bachelor’s completion rate at both observation points.
  • The gap does not disappear when the observation window extends to N+3.
  • The field-specific table also reports that women account for about 30% of new STEM entrants.
  • The gender totals do not reveal whether the gap is the same within every field or country.

Reported Completion Movement Between 2020 and 2023

The OECD reports limited two-point comparisons rather than a long field-by-field historical series.

SystemMeasure20202023ChangeValue status
AustraliaCompletion by theoretical durationAbout 31.9%47.9%About +16 pp2020 value derived from the OECD’s rounded change statement
ItalyCompletion by theoretical duration21%37.2%+16.2 ppPublished country note and Table B5.1
CanadaCompletion by N+3About 68.2%80.2%About +12 pp2020 value derived from the OECD’s rounded change statement
Trend analysis
  • The OECD states that most reporting systems changed little between the two completion observations.
  • Australia and Italy were the reported exceptions for on-time completion, each rising by about 16 percentage points.
  • Canada was the reported exception at N+3, rising by 12 percentage points.
  • The Australia and Canada 2020 values are page-level derivations from rounded OECD change statements and should be read as approximate.
  • The comparison is not a historical series by field of study.

How the Outcome Measures Fit Together

Each measure answers a different question about the education-to-work path.

Completion is cohort-based

The completion rate follows students who entered a programme. It changes when more time is allowed and can include graduation at another tertiary level.

Employment is population-based

The employment rate covers tertiary-educated adults aged 25–64. It is not a new-graduate placement rate and does not require work in the qualification field.

STEM contains unlike subfields

ICT employment is 90.1%, engineering is 88.8%, and natural sciences, mathematics and statistics is 85.7%. A single STEM total hides this spread.

Switching changes interpretation

About 9% of STEM and arts entrants complete a bachelor’s programme in another field. That pathway differs from leaving tertiary education without a qualification.

Country patterns vary

Health completion exceeds STEM by more than 20 points in several systems, while STEM is higher in New Zealand and Peru.

Skills remain visible within fields

Higher numeracy groups record higher employment in every reported field aggregate. The field gap narrows among adults at Levels 4 and 5.

IndicatorPopulationObservation periodWhat it recordsMain limitation
Bachelor’s completionFull-time entrants to bachelor’s programmesTheoretical duration, N+1, or N+3Graduation at the entered level or any tertiary level, depending on the columnEntry cohorts differ by programme duration and national data systems
Same-field completionFull-time bachelor’s entrants in selected fieldsN+3Bachelor’s graduation in the original broad fieldBroad fields combine many programmes
Employment rateTertiary-educated adults aged 25–64Survey or labour-force reference yearEmployed people as a share of the relevant populationHours, contract type, pay, and field match are not captured by the rate
Numeracy-linked employmentPIAAC participants aged 25–64 with tertiary education2023 adult skills cycleEmployment by field and proficiency levelAssociation does not establish a causal effect
Percentage-point gapDepends on the compared indicatorsSame reference basis requiredDirect subtraction between two percentage ratesIt is not a percent change
Indicator analysis
  • Completion and employment cannot be multiplied into a student-level probability because they use different populations.
  • A field with lower completion can still have a high employment rate among adults who hold the qualification.
  • Employment does not identify job quality, earnings, permanence, working hours, or degree-to-job match.
  • Country comparison requires attention to programme length, field composition, entry selection, and source coverage.

Source and Methodology

Main completion source OECD 2025 tertiary completion chapter, Tables B5.1–B5.3 and web Table B5.4. Open the official chapter.
Main employment source OECD 2025 labour-market chapter, Table A3.3 and web Table A3.10. Open the official chapter.
Completion coverage Full-time new entrants followed with true-cohort data. The main field comparison uses 2023 as the reference year; Colombia uses 2022 where reported.
Employment coverage Percentage of employed 25–64 year-olds among all 25–64 year-olds with tertiary education in the field. The main reference year is 2024; Canada, Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom use 2021, and Chile uses 2022.
Adult skills coverage OECD Survey of Adult Skills (PIAAC), 2023 cycle, adults aged 25–64. Numeracy levels are grouped as 0/1, 2, 3, and 4/5.
Field classification ISCED-F 2013. STEM combines natural sciences, mathematics and statistics; ICT; and engineering, manufacturing and construction.
Rounding Displayed values are rounded to one decimal. Charts use the same rounded values as the visible tables.
Missing values “Not reported” means the selected OECD table does not publish a value for that system and field. No value is imputed.
Technical documentation Country notes, control codes, averaging rules, and survey methods are documented in the OECD sources and technical notes.

OECD averages can use different country sets across columns. Component averages for same-field completion, field switching, and completion at another tertiary level may therefore differ slightly from the published total when added together. The 2020 values shown for Australia and Canada are page-level calculations obtained by subtracting the OECD’s rounded reported change from the 2023 table value.

Methodological Safety Note

Completion rates, employment rates, and numeracy-linked employment rates describe different populations and periods. They support comparison of reported patterns but do not rank the personal value of a degree, predict an individual outcome, measure job quality, or establish that field choice or numeracy proficiency caused an employment result.

📚

Complete guide: Higher Education